top of page

Local Treasures: Dirty Girl Farm

You will find this Local Treasure at the Royal Oak Farmers’ Market, 316 E 11 Mile Rd, Royal Oak Michigan. Open Fridays and Saturdays from 7 am – pm and Sunday from 8 am -3 pm.

Dirty Girl Farm has been on my radar for a little over a year now, since I wandered into the Royal Oak Farmers’ Market one Saturday afternoon and caught sight of their Sunbutter Organic Sunscreen.

I had been collecting the ingredients I needed to make my own sun block. But it made me nervous, because your skin is nothing to fool around with. It can absorb what you put on it, so I want to be careful what I put on it. But I didn’t want to risk exposing my skin to the UV rays of the sun. And I needed chemicals for full coverage, right?

I figured the Sunbutter would be a great every day addition for my face. I would put it on in the morning, and if I was outside for more than 10 minutes, I would add another sun block.

Fast forward a few weeks later to my son’s soccer game. I had applied a sun block (SPF 30) to my legs and then ran out. I had the Sunbutter in my purse and decided that it was better than nothing and applied it to my arms and face.

Guess what burned? Yup, my legs. My face (which typically burns first) and arms were burn-free. The chemicals I relied on didn’t hold up to that day’s test. I was pretty impressed.

Then this year, with news of lice growing resistant to standard medications, I started looking at ways to prevent infestations.

There are several essential oils that can aid in preventing lice, and I had made sprays for my family. But one day while browsing in the Dirty Girl Farm booth at the Royal Oak Farmers’ Market I came across their Rosemary Mint Shampoo/Conditioner and Lavender Shampoo/Conditioner. Lice are not fond of any of these. So I decided to give them a try.

While my motivation was to prevent bugs, my hair has never felt better. My teenage daughter’s hair has always been difficult to manage, so I had her try it too and her hair has never been easier to brush and care for. Here are my bottles this morning.... they're empty! Good thing it;s the weekend so I can head up to the Farmers' Market!

I was so impressed that the next week I went back and purchased the Leave-in Detangler Spray. This has saved us much drama when we need to sit down and brush out her hair.

This is huge for us! When we are trying to model the Sunshine, Lollipops and Rainbows headbands and hair bows, good hair is important!

Dirty Girl Farms offers hundreds of products, and I am slowly working my way through the list. But this is definitely a vendor that makes it easy for me to keep my commitment to buy local.

Check them on online:., or on Facebook.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page